Digital Archive:Cast list, The Last Confession (2007)

Listing show dates and detailing cast, creative and production teams

A Chichester Festival Theatre production

in association with Duncan C Weldon and Paul Elliott






Cast in order of appearance

Cardinal Giovanni Benelli – David Suchet

The Confessor – Michael Jayston

Cardinal Luciani, later Pope John Paul I – Richard O’Callaghan

Monsignor Magee – Roger May

Cardinal Villot – Bernard Lloyd

Bishop Marcinkus – Stuart Milligan

Pope Paul VI – Clifford Rose

Cardinal Felici – Charles Kay

Cardinal Ottaviani – John Franklyn-Robbins

Cardinal Baggio – Bruce Purchase

Cardinal Suenens – Michael Cronin

Cardinal Gantin – Joseph Mydell

Cardinal Lorscheider – Joseph Long

Father Lorenzi – Paul Foster

Sister Vincenza – Maroussia Frank

Dr Buzzonetti/Thomas – Christopher Mellows

Ensemble – Paul Beech   John Davitt   Adam Napier

Peter Coxon   Luke Osborne   Andrew Wallis


Director – David Jones

Designer – William Dudley

Costume Designer – Fotini Dimou

Lighting Designer – Peter Mumford

Composer – Dominic Muldowney

Casting Director – Joyce Nettles

Assistant Director – Thomas Hescott

Costume Supervisor – Carrie Bayliss


Production Manager – Paul Hennessy

Company Manager – Di Holt

Stage Manager – Xenia Lewis

Deputy Stage Manager – Judith Barrow

Assistant Stage Managers – Jessica Cutler, Kerrie Driscoll

Props Supervisor – Abi Duddleston


April: Fri 27OUP, Sat 28OUP, Mon 30OUP

May: Tue 1P, Wed 2P, Thu 3, Fri 4, Sat 5m&e, Tue 8PN, Wed 9, Thu 10m(D)&e(T), Fri 11(D),

Sat 12m(D)&e, Mon 14, Tue 15, Wed 16m&e(S), Thu 17, Fri 18, Sat 19m&L


OUP = Open University Preview

P = Preview

PN = Press Night

D = Audio Described Performance

S = Sign Interpreted Performance

T = Post Show Discussion

m = matinee

e = evening

L = Last Night


Festival Theatre, Plays, Press and Publicity, Productions