Digital Archive:Cast list, The Magistrate (1997)

Listing show dates and detailing cast, creative and production teams




Beatie Tomlinson – Elizabeth Ann O’Brien

Cis Farringdon – John Padden

Wyke – Dermot Keaney

Popham – Clare Francis

Agatha Posket – Abigail McKern

Aeneas Posket – Ian Richardson

Mr Bullamy – Frank Middlemass

Charlotte Verrinder – Carolyn Backhouse

Isidore – Mason Phillips

Achille Blond – Olivier Pierre

Colonel Alexander Lukyn – Graham Crowden

Captain Horace Vale – Richard Clifford

Inspector Messiter – Roger Walker

Constable Harris – Stewart Wright

Sergeant Lugg – Colin Mace

Mr Wormington – Derek Smee

Sculptor/Gentleman/Coffee Stall-holder/Policeman – Peter Carr

Prostitute/Housewife – Portia Booroff

Waiter/Policeman – James Rycroft


Director – Nicholas Broadhurst

Designer – Simon Higlett

Lighting Designer – Robert Bryan

Composer – Gary Yershon

Sound Designer – John A Leonard

Casting – Pippa Ailion

Assistant Director – David Grindley

Company Manager – Philip Gault

Stage Manager – Paul Bouchier

Deputy Stage Manager – Gussie Welch

Assistant Stage Managers – Tom Polo, Matthew Brewster



Popham/Agatha Posket – Portia Booroff

Mr Posket/Colonel Lukyn/Mr Wormington – Peter Carr

Beatie Tomlinson – Clare Francis

Mr Bullamy – Colin Mace

Charlotte Posket – Elizabeth Ann O’Brien

Captain Horace Vale – Mason Phillips

Cis Farringdon/Wyke/Isidore/Constable Harris – James Rycroft

Achille Blond/Inspector Messiter/Sergeant Lugg – Stewart Wright


October: Wed 1P, Thu 2Pm&e, Fri 3, Sat 4m&e, Sun 5, Mon 6, Tue 7, Wed 8, Thu 9m&e(S),

Fri 10(D), Sat 11m(D)&e, Sun 12, Mon 13, Tue 14, Wed 15, Thu 16m(D)&e, Fri 17(D),

Sat 18m&L


P = Preview

P = PN

D = Audio Described Performance

S = Sign Interpreted Performance

m = matinee

e = evening

L = Last Night


Festival Theatre, Plays, Press and Publicity, Productions