Digital Archive:Cast list, The Music Man (2008)

Listing show dates and detailing cast, creative and production teams

A Chichester Festival Theatre production

in association with Paul Elliot and Duncan C Weldon

Meredith Willson’s


Book, Music & Lyrics by MEREDITH WILLSON




Harold Hill – Brian Conley

Marian Paroo – Scarlett Strallen

Mrs Paroo – Katy Secombe

Winthrop Paroo – Eddie Manning or Declan Murphy-Saunders

Amarylllis – Beatrice Holland or Phoebe Saunders

Marcellus Washburn – Andy Hockley

Mayor Shinn – Rolf Saxon

Eulalie Shinn – Jenny Galloway

Zaneeta Shinn – Zizi Strallen

Gracie Shinn – Kassy Bull or Frances Roberts

Jaycee Squires – Kenneth Avery-Clark

Mrs Squires – Amanda Minihan

Ewart Dunlop – Matthew Gould

Maud Dunlop – Sherrie Pennington

Oliver Hix – Giles Taylor

Alma Hix – Sophie-Louise Dann

Olin Britt – Steve Fortune

Ethel Toffelmier – Nicola Blackman

Tommy Djilas – Barnaby Thompson

Charlie Cowell – Gary Milner

Constable Locke – Carl Sanderson

Conductor/Townsperson – Eddie Elliott

Townsperson – Kristopher Mitchell

Townsperson – Marc Antolin

Townsperson – Alice Mogg

Townsperson – Clare Halse

Children of River City – Lucy Anderson   Alwyn Davies-Ebsworth   Charlie Ellison

Katie Hartland   Thomas Hutchin   Cameron McLeish   Ewan McLeish

Joseph Marchant   Aidan O’Connor   Joseph Porter   Elliot Robinson

Sam Robinson   Isaac Salt   Sam Slinger   Harry Sumner

Ben Thair   Bradley Trevethan   Liam Wright

Salesmen and other parts played by members of the Company



Piano/MD – Stephen Ridley

Keyboards/Assistant MD – Wyn Hyland

Violin – Juliet Leighton-Jones

Alto Saxophone/Flute/Piccolo – John Franchi

Tenor Saxophone/Clarinet/Bass Clarinet – Steve Pierce

Alto & Baritone Saxophones/Clarinet – Duncan Lamont

Trumpets – Alan Hase, Owain Harries

Trombone – Liam Kirkman

French Horn – Dave McQueen

Double Bass/Tuba – Dave Berry

Percussion – Tim Gunnell

Drums – Dominic Sales

Orchestral Management – Andy Barnwell/Pete Harrison for Musical Co-ordination Services Ltd


Director – Rachel Kavanaugh

Designer – Robert Jones

Choreographer – Stephen Mear

Lighting Designer – Howard Harrison

Sound Designer – Matt McKenzie

Orchestra and Musical Supervisor – Steven Edis

Musical Director – Stephen Ridley

Casting Director – Jill Green

Costume Supervisor – Poppy Hall

Props Supervisor – Lisa Buckley

Dialect Coach – Charmian Hoare

Assistant Director – Adam Lenson

Assistant Choreographer – Jo Morris

Assistant Musical Director – Wyn Hyland

Assistant Designer – Bec Chippendale


Production Manager – Paul Hennessy

Company Manager – Charlotte Warner

Stage Manager – Maggie Mackay

Deputy Stage Manager – Lou Bann

Assistant Stage Managers – Jess Cutler, Emily Oliver


June: Mon 23OUP, Tue 24OUP, Wed 25OUP, Thu 26P, Fri 27P, Sat 28, Mon 30

July: Tue 1(T), Wed 2, Thu 3PN, Fri 4(D), Sat 5m&e, Mon 7, Tue 8, Wed 9, Thu 10m(D)&e(S),

Fri 11, Sat 12m(D)&e, Fri 18, Sat 19m&e, Sun 20, Fri 25m&e, Sat 26m&e(PT), Sun 27,

Thu 31

August: Fri 1, Sat 2m&e, Sun 3, Wed 6, Thu 7m, Fri 8m&e, Thu 14, Fri 15m&e, Sat 16m&e,

Mon 18, Tue 19, Wed 20m&e, Tue 26(W), Wed 27m&e, Sat 30m(D)&L


OUP = Open University Preview

P = Preview

PN = Press Night

W = Live Nights: Get Into Live Theatre (Workshops for 14-22 year olds)

D = Audio Described Performance

S = Sign Interpreted Performance

PT = Pre Show Talk

T = Post Show Discussion ‘After Words’

m = matinee

e = evening

L = Last Night


Festival Theatre, Musicals, Press and Publicity, Productions